## DEMOCRATIC MEETINGS:

There are Two Classes of Demo crats in Some Quarters.

Mass meetings were held in various parts of the Territory on Saturday, for the election of delegates to the Territorial Democratic Convention, to be held at Ogden Mayoth, to send delegates to the National Democratic Convention of the National Democratic Conference of the National C gates to the National Democratic Con-vention. At 8 o'clock on Saturday evening, the Federal Court House wa well filled, and the meeting selected

well filled, and the meeting selected the following delegates;
H. T. Duke, J. B. Waiden, J. G. Sutherland, J. A. Marshall, Ben Sheeks, H. I. Anderson, Aaron Keyser, Thomas Marishall, A. G. Norrell, S. H. Lewis, P. H. Dyer, Martin Launan, J. M. Keanelly, C. M. Brown, Matt Cullen, E. D. Hoge, George Cullen, S. A. Merritt, H. Bamberger, M. B. Sowles, T. F. Mulloy, W. C. Hall, P. L. Williams, Stephen Hayes Mike Gibbons, Henry Siegel.

The delegates were instructed to voter resolutions endorsing President.

Cleveland. J. A. Marshall was chairman, and H. T. Duke secretary. The speakers were P. L. Williams, Judge J. G. Suther land, J. C. Royle and J. L. Rawlins.
At Ogden there was a "bolt" in the

land, J. C. Royle and J. L. Rawlins.
At Ogden there was a "bolt" in the convention, owing to the regular convention being controlled by democrate most of whom had formerly acted with the People's Party. J. W. McNutt. Charman of the county central committe, saw that the faction of democrate which he represented were in the minority, and ordered the convention adjourned till today. The meeting went on and organized, but the members of the convention were ordered out of the hall by the owner. They went, and reassembled at the county court house, where the following delegates were chosen: M. F. Brown, C. C. Richards, N. Tanner, Jr., George Shorter, E. T. Woolley, B. H. Goddard, Newton Farr, John V. Bluth Jesse Stratford, R. K. Williams, H. H. Rolapp, John Watson, John A. Boyle, F. H. Ballantyne, Thos. D. Dee, Nathan C. Montgomery, Samuel Horrocks, Joseph Clark, George W. Driver and George J. Marsh. The following were appointed a county central committee John A. Boyle, N. Tanner, Jr., C. C. Richards, N. C. Montgomery, Thos. D. Dee, John Watson and H. D. Peterson.

At Provo, there was also a split. Da

At Provo, there was also a split. David Evans was made chairman and II. A. Noon, secretary. A committee on resolutions was appointed, and made two reports. After an acrimonious discussion, the majority report was rejected, and the resolutions reported by the minority committee, as follows

were adopted:

Resolved, That pending the present issues in Utah such persons as oppose the execution of existing laws against polygam, and other national laws as affirmed by the courts, not being Democratic nor friends to free secular government are not entitled to participate in any of the meetings of the Democrats of Utah, and that we athere and subscribe to the issues of the national Democratic platform.

(Signed.) W. N. Dusemberger

W. N. DUSENBERRY,"
JAMES DUNN. (Signed,)

Upon the adoption of this report the chairman and secretary of the conven-tion resigned, and the nitra-radical wing of the party, bolted from the hall. The majority proceeded and elected a new chairman and secretary, and chose the following delegates: James Dunn. S. R. Thurman, and Dr. W. R. Pikel Provo; R. A. Deal and John Boyer, Springville; A. J. Evans, Lehi; William

Creer, Spanish Fork; J. S. Page, Pay son; J. O. Bullock, Pleasant Grove George Cunningham, American Fork. A resolution was adopted, recomend ing Hon. W. N. Dusenberry for ap-

pointment to the office of Probate Judge of Utah County,

The convention passed a resolution severely condemning Mr. Noon for walking off with the minutes after he had resigned. A county central committee was appointed, and the meeting a Jiourned. The bolters reconvened and elected

the following delegates to contest seats in the Territorial convention: W. O. Norrell, D. Evans, Thos. Bees-ley, A. W. Meek, Julius Hannberg, H. A. Noon, R. Brereton, James G. Kenney, B. Bachman, Jr., and J. B. Mc

Bellan. At the Box Elder convention, held at Corinne, there were also two sets of delegates. The majority elected J. D. Peters, E. H. Peirce, A. H. Snow, R. H. Jones, William Lowe and R. H. Baty, and the minerity, or radicals, elected E. R. Chase, M. B. Buford, Hiram House, J. A. Schubert, Wm. House and H. H. Smith. Both sets of nominations were put simultaneously and there was considerable confusions

At Park City the Summit County convention elected delegates as fell lows: Jos. M. Cohen. Wm. M. Ferry Isaac Pe ohn Farrish.